Skip to content

ERCM Best Graduate Paper Award

As in previous editions of the European Research Conference on Microfinance (ERCM), an award for the Best Graduate Paper will be conferred during the 8th edition of the conference in Bergamo. This award is an initiative of the European Microfinance Platform (e-MFP) which gives to the first-place winner a prize of 1000 euros and a free entry to the 2024 European Microfinance Week (EMW) in Luxembourg. The second-place winner will receive 500 euros and a free entry to EMW. Both awardees will be invited to deliver a 20-minute presentation on their paper during a plenary session at ERCM in Bergamo, along with a brief presentation at EMW 2024.

To be eligible for the award, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • be a graduate (PhD, Masters or equivalent) student at the time of submitting an abstract to the conference
  • be registered to attend the ERCM
  • have a paper accepted for presentation at the ERCM
  • present the accepted paper at the ERCM
  • be the primary/lead or sole author of the submitted paper
  • not have published their paper at the time of submission to the ERCM

To apply for the award, applicants must:

  • have received confirmation that their abstract has been accepted for presentation at the conference.
  • submit a document saved as PDF through the dedicated platform accessible via the conference website on or by 15th of April, 2024:
    – A fully blinded conference paper. Please follow the submission guidelines for full research papers. Any papers not meeting the limit of 25 A4 pages and 9,000 words will be excluded from the competition.
    – In case of a co-authored paper, it should contain the contributions of all authors, including the applicant.

The criteria and process for the award:

  • submitted papers are considered by a panel commissioned by the conference organizers.
  • papers will be evaluated based on the following criteria:
  1. Clear grasp of the existing literature
  2. Alignment of the research question/aim with a distinct knowledge gap
  3. Demonstration of comprehension of the chosen methodology and its correct application
  4. Clear presentation of the research findings
  5. Thorough discussion of the findings in relation to the literature, with a clear elucidation of advancements in knowledge.

The two winners only will be informed of the result prior to the ERCM to allow preparation for their plenary presentation. Results will be communicated by end of May, 2024.
The award will be announced during the conference.